Adventures in Baltimore, MD — part 2

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 9.26.23 PM
Selfie in the Tropical Rainforest exhibit at the National Aquarium

Day two of my mini vacation to Baltimore has proved to be a fantastical, magical and wonderful experience. My lovely mother and I were able to meet a few sea animals, catch a glimpse of a sloth (like, WHAT?!), explore an historic submarine, visit the Baltimore World Trade Center and gasp at the beauty of viewing this gorgeous city from, literally, the top of the city and eat at the Hard Rock Cafe! What a day — an amazingly eventful, awesome day.

Our first stop was the National Aquarium! I love animals, especially those who dwell underwater. Fishes, dolphins, jellies, frogs. I met them all. However, my favorite will always be the sea turtles! The way they swim is so majestic; it’s mesmerizing. The following photo is one of my favorites of the day, side by side with me in my ‘Sea Turtle Rescue’ t-shirt I just bought:

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 9.04.12 PMScreen Shot 2016-07-03 at 9.23.52 PM

Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 10.21.43 PMThe next stop was a tour through the USS Torsk submarine, which torpedoed an enemy ship during World War II (the last by the U.S. Navy). The inside was so cramped: the bunkbeds, sinks, bathrooms, offices. The crazy thing was they had a mini lunchroom! It just blew my mind how they lived and the fact that they were submerged underwater. The bravery is apparent just by that simple, totally mundane fact of living conditions when compared to the real events of war and sacrifice.

Some time after, we decided to go to the Baltimore World Trade Center. On the 27th floor, we were considered on the “Top of the World,” as we gaped at the 360 view of Baltimore on their observation deck. The view was stunning and their 9/11 memorial to the victims from Maryland was captivating and eye-opening.

I know I keep repeating myself about the gorgeousness of this city, but I cannot help myself. Tomorrow will be my last day here for the meantime and it’s set to rain, unfortunately. Hopefully, it will hold off because I’d really like to visit the zoo animals…
Screen Shot 2016-07-03 at 10.23.38 PM

The aquarium and zoo are the first places I like to visit when I go somewhere new. What are some your favorite first stops? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Leave a Reply

