April 2017 Favorites

The first week of May reared its pretty, flower-crowned head and whisked by reminding us to stop and look at the blooming flowers. As I reflect about the previous month, I’m very happy about how pleasant it actually was. April has been the month of breathing in fresh air at some historical parks (check out my day at Franklin Square here), blogging consistently (so excited!) and planting some flowers and plants in my little garden (blog post coming soon!).

While I have been relishing my time in April very much, I have also enjoyed several products throughout the month which I am very excited to share.

*Items will be linked if found online.*

FullSizeRender-7.jpg

Beauty

Clinique Moisture Surge™ Extended Thirst Relief: Relief is the perfect word to include in its title. During Spring Break, we took a trip to Six Flags with my students, and I arrived home with sunburnt skin. My skin was so hot to the touch and angry red. I used Clinique Moisture Surge™ on my face, chest and neck/upper back areas. I felt the cool creamy gel instantly alleviate the burning sensation while moisturizing my skin. This product is really amazing! I usually put it on before bed, which helps me wake up with smooth skin and ready for the day.

FullSizeRender

Urban Decay NAKED ILLUMINATED Shimmering Powder For Face And Body (in the color LUMINOUS): This champagne-colored powder with iridescent properties has helped me discover how much I LOVE shimmery powder! As you might have read here, I am new to the whole makeup thing, products, routine and all, but this girl loves sparkles. It applies effortlessly; one swipe leaves a generous amount that twinkles in the sun (it comes with a cute, little brush!). This powder definitely leaves you looking luminous and radiant.

FullSizeRender-9

Too Faced NATURAL LOVE EYE SHADOW COLLECTION: Oh. My. Goodness! Talk about the perfect natural, neutral palette of any girl’s dream! While it may seem I like bold makeup looks because I like a shimmery face, I actually like more of a natural look which is what Natural Love is all about. This palette includes some popular colors from the Natural Eyes, Natural Matte and Natural At Night palettes, but also contains exclusive new shades. Some of my favorites are Fairy Tale, Satin Sheets, Honey Pot, Honeymoon, Cutie Patootie and Tickle Me.

fullsizeoutput_401.jpeg

Bookish

OwlCrate: This is a monthly subscription box, which includes a new young-adult novel, a letter and bookplate from the author and 3-5 bookish items which all center around a specific, creative theme. Some of the previous items included were mini candles, prints and jewelry within themes like “Myths & Legends,” “Writer’s Block,” “Good VS Evil” and “Sailors, Ships & Seas.” All of the items are inspired by books of all genres, which I love. Pictured, is the April 2017 Box, theme: “Head Over Heels,” see the cool items I received last month:

FullSizeRender-8

Stationary

Moleskine Journals: Admittedly, I began paying attention to Moleskine journals when they released their Harry Potter collection. Now, they recently released the Peter Pan collection, and I just found out about the Beauty and the Beast collection (I need one!). While, yes I am a sucker for cute journals with great gimmicks, the quality of these journals cannot be compared to others. Ink simply glides along the pages, the covers are durable and it contains a bookmark, an elastic band for closure and an inner pocket. It is a one-stop shop when looking for a journal to keep your work in order. I am currently using 3 different ones: for work, blogging and personal writing.
 FullSizeRender-4

Miscellaneous

Disney Crossy Road: With this app, Disney collaborated with Hipster Whale for a spin-off of the original Crossy Road. In their version, we have the opportunity to hop through 8-bit Disney worlds such as Beast’s castle (Beauty and the Beast), China (Mulan), Agrabah (Aladdin), Riley’s Mind (Inside Out) and Al’s Toy Barn (Toy Story) with over 500 characters (total) from their respective movies, to name a few. Honestly, I have been playing this game consistently since it was released in March 2016; however, I am at the point where I play at least once a day (on my iPhone; just used the iPad for the photo) for the daily missions and weekend challenges. I find it very comforting and fun. It is the one game app which has not bored me yet; that’s saying something.

FullSizeRender-6

That is everything I have been loving this month. Let me know in the comments below if you have tried any of these products and your thoughts on them. I’d also like to know what were some of your favorite things for the month of April!

5 thoughts on “April 2017 Favorites

Leave a Reply

