Dried Cranberry and White Chocolate Biscotti

This week, I decided to try something new in the realm of baking goodies. I actually do enjoy baking, but it’s one of those things where I get into the baking spirit for 6 weeks straight, fall off for 3 months and restart the cycle. Nonetheless, I find joy and serenity in the process and am content that I always find my way back to it when I need it.

Recently, I acquired a love of biscotti. I have never tried them before, but I bought a package from the supermarket (then found myself purchasing a couple more) and could NOT get enough. I researched an easy-to-follow recipe, which I found here and tried my absolute best.

IMG_4487

I think they look great and taste very nice; however, as I give you the recipe, I will also tell you what I did differently and any revisions I would make for future tries.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of salted butter, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups (about 6 oz) of dried cranberries
  • 1 egg white
  • 12 oz of white chocolate, chopped or white chocolate chips

IMG_4451.JPG

Changes: In the original recipe, epicurious uses almond extract and unsalted butter, which I switched for vanilla extract and salted butter respectively (because I’m allergic to the first and did not have the latter). I also used a lot of chopped chocolate chips, which I will explain more about later.

Revisions: I would definitely use less dried cranberries and buy some unsalted butter to compare the difference.

Directions:

Part 1

Combine flour,  baking powder and salt in a medium bowl and whisk to blend. Use an electric mixer to beat sugar, butter, 2 eggs and vanilla extract in large bowl until well blended. Mix in the flour mixture and add the dried cranberries and white chocolate.

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line heavy large baking sheet with parchment paper. Divide dough in half. Using floured hands, shape each piece into 2 1/2-inch-wide, 9 1/2-inch-long, 1-inch-high log (which I definitely did not follow). Transfer both logs to prepared baking sheet; spacing evenly. Whisk egg white in small bowl until foamy; brush egg white glaze on top and sides of each log.

FullSizeRender

Part 2

Bake logs until golden brown (logs will spread!), about 35 minutes. Cool completely on sheet on a rack. Maintain oven temperature (I put it down to 170°F). Transfer logs to work surface. Discard parchment. Using serrated knife, cut logs on diagonal into 1/2-inch-wide slices. Arrange slices, cut side down, on same sheet. Bake 10 minutes; turn biscotti over. Bake until just beginning to color, about 5 minutes. Transfer biscotti to rack.

Part 3

With leftover chocolate, melt white chocolate whichever way is best (I used the microwave). Using fork, drizzle chocolate over biscotti. Let stand until chocolate sets, about 30 minutes.

Changes: I added white chocolate to the dough. ALSO, I added more white chocolate to the biscotti by dipping parts to make it more tasty. The measurements were difficult for me to follow, so I just winged it.

Revisions: Next time, I won’t be adding the white chocolate to the recipe. I think they will come out harder if I just leave it for after the baking is done. Another important tip for myself is to place the halves on separate baking sheets, because they definitely did spread to the point where they merged together.

IMG_4476

This was definitely a learning experience for me. Let me know if you like biscotti, enjoy baking and/or plan to try out this recipe!

4 thoughts on “Dried Cranberry and White Chocolate Biscotti

Leave a Reply

