May 2017 Favorites

May has been the month dedicated to A Pretty Story. I created a schedule, posted regularly and used my Instagram and Twitter more often. I must say I’m having such a blast writing, photographing and interacting; thank you to every kind person who has liked a post, commented on a post and followed me this month.

As we move into June, I’m excited to continue growing my pretty, little space, transition into the season of summer and search for favorites along the way, whether it be products, places or experiences. But, in the meantime, keep reading for my May 2017 favorites!

*Items will be linked if found online.*

IMG_4652

Beauty

Too Faced Born This Way Foundation: This is a medium-to-full coverage foundation which is designed to be oil-free and undetectable. I love the creamy texture which easily glides and blends onto my skin. It definitely helped me get through this busy month. Before work, I would touch up my face with this foundation (I use the shade Porcelain) and the Urban Decay NAKED ILLUMINATED Shimmering Powder For Face And Body, which was in my April Favorites! I felt fresh and ready for each day.

IMG_4622

Limited-Edition Tarteist™ PRO Glow Liquid Highlighter Stunner: This liquid highlighter is from the Make Believe in Yourself collection, inspired by fantasy dreams. Highlighter has to be one of my favorite makeup products; I have several palettes, but I’ve never tried a liquid one. It is creamy and instantly creates a glow-y shimmer wherever you blend it. Just squeeze a tiny amount (a teeny bit is all you need!) and blend it with your finger. It looks gorgeous!

FullSizeRender

Lip Products: While I have been becoming obsessed with makeup (highlighters! eyeshadows! powder!), I tend to skip lipstick. I like to be natural and wear neutral shades, so I’d usually go with Blistex over anything. But, this month I began to experiment a bit. Here are some I used in May:

  • Tarte Quench Lip Rescue: This lip balm in the color Nude is my most used lip product (besides Blistex, of course). It is so moisturizing and hydrating, while giving my lips a little color. I would totally recommend if you are like me when it comes to lipsticks a.k.a not as daring!
  • KKW x Kylie: When the KKW x Kylie collaboration was announced, my mom and I were so excited. Before that, we had not tried Kylie’s lip kits before (except a mini one which came with her Valentine’s Day dual eyeshadow kit, which we never use). But, what totally grasped me was they were giving me 4 nude shades in a créme liquid lipstick, which is right up my alley! My mom and I split them, but the one color I used is KIMMIE.
  • Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick: I just love how smoothly it sits on my lips. The color is so pretty; it’s a sort of pinkish nude. The second best feature is its name: Airy Fairy. It has such a magical ring to it.
  • Tarte Drench Lip Splash Lipstick: I saved this for last because this is probably the most pigmented lipsticks I have. It is called Cabana Boy, which is a very pretty mauve color. I’ve only worn in on occasions where I know I’m going somewhere nice, but I love how soft it is and it has a great time span on the lips. It lasts all day!

Swatches (bottom to top): Tarte Cabana Boy, Tarte Nude, Rimmel London Airy Fairy, KKW x Kylie KIMMIE

Aveeno® Positively Radiant® Makeup Removing Wipes: So, I’ve been on the search for some makeup removing wipes for ages (well, I’ve only been wearing makeup for less than a year, but you know what I mean) that actually takes off all of the makeup with 1 wipe without leaving any residue. This one actually does the job while leaving my skin feeling nourished and moisturized.

Aveeno® Positively Radiant® Skin Brightening Daily Scrub: I can’t mention one of the Positively Radiant products without mentioning the second one I bought form the collection. This daily scrub is so gentle and soft, great for sensitive skin. It says it “helps improve skin tone, texture and clarity,” which I’m excited to put to the test. Hopefully, I can vouch for this in the near future.

IMG_4639

Bookish

Everything, Everything Book and Movie: I thoroughly enjoyed both the novel and film! I won’t ramble on and on about how amazing it is because I did here. I’m just going to say it is worth the read and view if you’re interested in a risky adventure filled with love. Check it out if you haven’t!

FullSizeRender-2

Experience(s)

Franklin Square’s Chinese Lantern Festival: On Mother’s Day, my mom and I spent the morning walking through Franklin Square admiring the sights of the Chinese Lantern Festival. It was early so we didn’t get to experience the lights, dancing, shops and food, which illuminate at night. However, we still enjoyed the beautiful designs and displays. We photographed just about all of it (post coming soon)!

Miscellaneous

Twitch: Admittedly, I have never heard of Twitch before one of my favorite YouTubers created an account and began streaming. It’s basically an app/website (whichever you prefer) where you can watch broadcasts of games and follow and interact with your favorite streamers. He is a PokéTuber (yes, I am a Pokémon lover!), which I’ve been following on YouTube for about a year or so now. If you like Top Tens, Let’s Plays and other Pokémon content, check out Michael @ MandJTV here (YouTube channel) and here (Twitch Page)! He is great!

FullSizeRender-3

That is everything I have been loving this month. Let me know in the comments below if you have tried any of these and what your thoughts on them are. I’d also like to know what were some of your favorite things for the month of May!

3 thoughts on “May 2017 Favorites

Leave a Reply

