TV Show: Pretty Little End Game

Pretty Little Liars has been present in my life for 7 years. Since it premiered in 2010 (when I was in high school!), I have been absolutely obsessed from day 1. With the complex characters, picturesque love stories, eery setting, controversial plot twists and head-banging cliffhangers, I have been fully engrossed in this show from the end of my teen years to my early adult years; I can honestly say I grew up with this show.

FullSizeRender.jpg
August 1, 2015; Before finding out who -A was (with longer hair and a blonde streak)!

A Pretty, Brief Summary

Pretty Little Liars (also known as PLL) is a mystery drama which airs (aired) on ABC Family/Freeform.Β 

In the small town of Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four uniquely diverse girls are brought together by IT-girl Alison DiLaurentis. However, one night their world is turned upside down with Alison’s disappearance. A year later, Aria Montgomery, Emily Fields, Hanna Marin and Spencer Hastings are reunited and begin their tumultuous journey when they start receiving threatening messages by an anonymous sender, -A. With an ounce of hope their best friend is alive (only Alison knows their deepest secrets), they come together to figure out who -A is. But, a body is found and with that, they realize another threat exists and has no mercy.

With the end game airing tonight, I am truly heartbroken. I will miss the Tuesday nights with the Liars, mysteries and creativity (I’m looking at you film-noir inspired, black and white episode, “Shadow Play”). I will miss the fashion and sense of humor. Most importantly, I will miss the friendship, maturation, determination and strength.

But, before it’s over, I would like to recap my favorites from the series!

***Spoilers Ahead***

IMG_5071

My Favorite Liar: Hanna Marin

She is one of the girls I feel had a huge transformation. Hanna began with insecurities about her weight and status. After Alison’s disappearance, she blossomed into a social butterfly intent on gaining popularity. She later came into her own, setting out to be the most humble, hardworking, tough and independent of characters. She persevered and did not let anyone stand in her way, even standing up to -A a couple of times. I just love her so much!

My Favorite Character (besides the Liars): Mona Vanderwaal

Loser Mona. Radley Mona. Smart Mona. A-Team Mona. Dead Mona. Successful Mona. Great Friend Mona. This character has the most personalities and plot lines in this series; it’s seriously impressive. She is the most complex and just amazing all-around character. Janel Parrish smashed her acting gig! I have to say that Mona in Radley is my favorite (this is probably why I love Season 3); I think that is when I really began paying attention to her role in the Liars’ lives and the issues she was dealing with. I love her character, her role, her actress.

My Favorite Location: -A’s Dollhouse

The Dollhouse was the most creepiest part of the entire series (well, up to this point, anyway). Full of torture, deception and isolation, this is anyone’s worse nightmare. -A constructed their chambers to mimic their rooms at home, built with cameras and an intercom system which watched them and communicated with them respectively. Also, there were the chimes, which expressed different meanings depending on the number of chimes (Like, three chimes meant “the girls must return to their rooms or else -A steals them in the night and puts them in “the hole”). Yes, scary spooky.

My Favorite Couple/Ship: Haleb ❀ (of course!)

I’m going to try not to fangirl here, but… oh, the FEELS! Hanna and Caleb exuded chemistry from their first scene to the hot shower scene to the tent scene and beyond. When I realized they recreated the tent scene in this final season (AND THEY GOT MARRIED), I was ecstatic and full of awe. I loved their relationship came full circle. They are honestly #relationshipgoals in my opinion.

The Biggest Mistake: Caleb and Spencer’s Relationship (ugh…)

… And with that, you may have guessed I ABSOLUTELY DESPISED this storyline. I don’t even want to talk about it. Just NO. I cannot believe the producers and writers even let this happen. It isn’t okay on any level. Alright, I’m done.

The Most Shocking Plot Twist: MONA IS ALIVE!

With all the plot twists the PLL entourage threw at us (Toby dying, but actually working with -A, Alison being alive, Ezra knowing Alison before he met Aria, Creators revealing -A(s) / (Mona, Charles/Charlotte), Jessica having a twin, Spencer being shot and finding out Mary Drake is her biological mother and even Mona killing Charlotte), I think my jaw actually dropped when Mona removed her Ali-mask in the dollhouse. I may have to admit, discovering Spencer was adopted had a similar effect on me. However, I was fully engrossed with Mona and I had suspicions that she was alive during that season. I remember expressing it with every episode which passed. When she was finally on the screen, I literally gasped!

IMG_5091

My Thoughts

This is my love letter to one of the most encompassing, breathtaking and astounding TV shows. I must congratulate the main actresses for their amazing performances: Troian Bellisario, Ashley Benson, Lucy Hale, Shay Mitchell and Sasha Pieterse. Honorable mentions go to the supporting actors: Tyler Blackburn, Ian Harding, Keegan Allen, Vanessa Ray, Tammin Sursok, and, of course, Janel Parrish to name a few.

Tonight, the two-hour-long finale, “Till Death Do Us Part,” will mark the beginning of the end of an era and I . Am. Not. Ready! I’m excited, sad, anxious and nostalgic. But, one thing is for sure, this series finale is going to be amazing (and hopefully satisfying). I. Marlene King, PLL’s Creator, says that it will end in a “full circle moment.” She also goes on to say, “Although this show ends, this world continues. The mythology of this town will always go on. It’s not going to end with Pretty Little Liars.” This both gives me hope and a hint of anticipation.

An A-List Wrap Party seems to follow the finale with King and the actresses who play the Liars discussing memorable scenes, behind-the-scenes moments and sought-after secrets. We are in for a treat!

All in all, I have learned so much from this show. All of the amazing qualities and lessons are just a testament of how universal this series really is. After 7 seasons, 160 episodes… Goodbye, PLL.

Your Thoughts?

Are you a PLL fan? Who is your favorite liar/character? Who do you ship? What is your most shocking plot twist? How do/did you feel about the finale?

2 thoughts on “TV Show: Pretty Little End Game

Leave a Reply

