July 2017 Favorites

We are ankle deep in August as I reflect on the previous month. July proved to be challenging for me as I departed from my job into a world of unknown. At the start of the month, I was extremely busy that I neglected my blog, which I felt so sad about. As July neared its close, I decided it was time for me to leave my job on account of the hostile work environment. With time, I’m beginning to feel better, more relaxed.

Nonetheless, as I left a part of my story behind and began to search and discover a new path in my life, I reveled and will continue to revel in the beautiful and magnificent things around me. Some of these things improved my routine, while others comforted me.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Carry on if you need a makeup routine pick-me-up or a simple mood booster.

*Items will be linked if found online.*

Beauty

Tarte Amazonian Clay BB Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20: While it is said this is a light-to-medium coverage, I adore the way it sits on my face. It looks and feels smooth as it improves the appearance of my complexion and protects my skin, which is one of the main reasons I decided to pick this product up.

Tarte The Buffer™ Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush: To blend the above mentioned Tarte moisturizer, I used this incredibly soft, easy-to-use foundation brush. It blends any type of foundation or moisturizer beautifully and buffs concealers seamlessly. This brush is awesome!

FullSizeRender-1

Kylie Cosmetics: I won’t go into too much detail, because I spoke a little bit about my love for this brand in my previous post here. But, I will say the eyeshadows are very pigmented and can be blended easily, the highlighters (in the Koko Collection) are so silky and shimmery and the liquid lipsticks are so long-wearing and gorgeous.

Below is some of my current collection!

FullSizeRender-2

Urban Decay Pro Contour Shapeshifter Brush: This is a double-ended brush (domed brush and fan brush) meant to be used for contouring, color-correcting, blending and highlighting. It made its way onto my favorites because of its amazingly flawless application of my highlighters. The fan brush end picks up a perfect amount of product, and with a swipe of the brush, it is placed in all the right places.

FullSizeRender-3

Skin Care

Aveeno® Positively Radiant® 60 Second In-Shower Facial: I raved about a couple of the Aveeno Positively Radiant products in my May 2017 Favorites, praising their nourishing, moisturizing and gentle qualities. This in-shower facial is no exception! In literally 60 seconds, my skin feels smooth, exfoliated and fresh.

FullSizeRender-4

Media

Harry Potter EVERYTHING!: Freeform began celebrating Harry Potter’s birthday the weekend before his official birthday on Monday, July 31 by broadcasting Harry Potter Weekend. It was quite literally a day or two after I moved on from my job, and I cannot tell you how much comfort seeing the movies brought me. My mood slowly but surely started to change, because no one can be upset watching magic and love unravel on a TV screen. During that same weekend, I picked up the Harry Potter Film Wizardry (finally finished it) and Harry Potter: The Character Vault pictorial books. I have several of these amazing books which give a behind-the-secenes look into the movie magic, some focus on a set theme, like characters, magical places and creatures.

The power of faith and Harry Potter helped lift my spirits. J.K. Rowling was spot-on when she said:

“Whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

FullSizeRender-5

Fixer Upper (TV Show): Each night my mom and I curl up on the sofa and binge-watch this show. We love Chip’s funny, down-to-earth, hardworking demeanor and Joanna’s gorgeous style and talent. Together, they make a great team; their fixer uppers are beautiful.

FullSizeRender-6

That is everything I have been loving this month. Let me know in the comments below if you have tried any of these and what your thoughts on them are. What are some of your favorite things that bring you comfort?

Get loud in the comments about your favorite things from July!

5 thoughts on “July 2017 Favorites

  1. Harry Potter really is a comfort series for me. It just makes me feel at home, no matter how too-much-of-a-good-thing-is-not-a-good-thing I may feel about it.
    I started really getting into eyeshadow in July and I bought the Maybelline Blushed Nudes palette and it’s been a fabulous one to start with!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for reading!

      I’ve been on an HP binge, watching and reading nonstop. I just love the way it makes me feel. You’re right; it makes me feel at home as well.

      I don’t have that palette, but it looks gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

